This is an old version of the site for archive purposes only. Please use our new site.

Philosophy Faculty Library
Printer Friendly Version

The Post-Kantian Seminar

Hilary Term 2017

The Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar is a seminar series devoted to the study and discussion of Post-Kantian European Philosophy, welcoming speakers from within Oxford and elsewhere to present work in a workshop format. Colleagues and graduate students with an interest in this tradition are very welcome to take part.

The seminar will be held in Hilary Term 2017 on Tuesdays, even weeks only, 17:00 – 19:00 in the Ryle Room at the Radcliffe Humanities, Woodstock Road, OX2 6GG. 

Week 2 - (24th Jan): No meeting due to the Faculty Search in Post-Kantian Philosophy

Week 4 - (7th Feb): Dr. Tae-Yeoun Keum (Junior Research Fellow, Christ Church, Oxford), 'The demon of the city: Ernst Cassirer on myth and Plato'

Week 6 - (14th Feb):  Dr. Yuuki Ohta (Career Development Fellow, St. Hugh’s, Oxford), 'Articulating vision: ‘Wittgensteinian’ voices in Iris Murdoch’s Acastos' [Abstract]

Week 8 -  (7th March) : Professor Stella Sandford (Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University, London), ‘Kant, Teleology and Natural History: “Race” in the Critique of Pure Reason’ [Abstract]

For further information, please contact Manuel Dries( or Joseph Schear ( Please write if you would like to be on the email list for the distribution of papers.

Previous speakers:

Adrian Moore (Oxford)
Stephen Houlgate (Warwick)
Marcin Moskalewicz (Marie Curie Fellow, Oxford, Philosophy)
Stephen Mulhall (New College)
Michael Forster (Chicago)
Laura Macor (Oxford)
Jacob Burda (Oxford)
Miguel de Beistegui (Warwick)
Alessandra Tanesini (Cardiff)
Paul Franks (Yale),
Andrew Bowie (Royal Holloway)
Catherine Audard (LSE)
Brian Leiter (Chicago)
Angela Breitenbach (Cambridge)
Christina Howells (Oxford)
Joerg Schaub (Essex)
Eva Buddeberg (Frankfurt)
Christian Skirke (Amsterdam)
Peter Poellner (Warwick)
Peter Kail (Oxford)
Hanneke Grootenboer (Oxford)
Steven DeLay (Oxford)
Alison Denham (Oxford)
Beatrice Han-Pile (Essex)
Wayne Martin (Essex)
Sasha Mudd (Southampton)
Michael Rosen (Kennedy School of Government, Harvard)
Mark Wrathall (UC Riverside: Fowler-Hamilton Fellow, Christ Church)
Axel Honneth (Frankfurt/Columbia)
Paul Katsafanas (Boston)
Katerina Deligiorgi (Sussex)
Robert Watt (Oxford)
Sacha Golob (KCL)
De Lea Ypi (LSE)
Irene McMullin (Essex)
Katherine Withy (Georgetown)
Lucy Allais (Sussex)
Komarine Romdenh-Romluc (Nottingham)
Dennis McManus (Southampton)
Sabina Lovibond (Oxford) Lambert Wiesing (Germany)
Elizabeth Cykowski (Oxford)
Francesco Maiolo (Utrecht)
Cristina Crichton (Oxford)
Fabian Freyenhagen (Essex)
David Egan (Oxford)
Roxana Baiasu (Oxford)
Dean Moyar (Johns Hopkins University)
Thomas Land (Cambridge)
Christopher Janaway (Southampton)
Lorna Finlayson (Cambridge)
Andrew Huddleston (Oxford)
Michael Thompson (Pittsburgh)
Robert Pippin (Chicago)
Nicholas Bunnin (Oxford)
Jason Gaiger (Oxford)
Manuel Dries (Oxford)
Severin Schroeder (Reading)
Sebastian Gardner (UCL)
Pamela Anderson (Oxford)
Mark Wrathall (UC Riverside)
Simon Glendinning (LSE)
George Pattison (Oxford)
Katherine Morris (Oxford)
Robert Stern (Sheffield)
Edward Kanterian (Kent)
Michael Inwood (Oxford)
Wayne Martin (Essex)
Stephen Mulhall (Oxford)
Ken Gemes (Birkbeck)
Raymond Geuss (Cambridge)




Tell a Friend